Berkoukes bel djedj (chicken with giant couscous)

20140505-200107.jpg

I started my blog to explore not only Algerian flavours but also to experiment with more fish dishes as I cannot easily get quality halal meat. Well that’s changed! Ocado have started stocking amazing halal meat by a Haloodies, (halal for foodies). You can also find them in Harrods foodhall but I’m not one to do my weekly shop there.
Haloodies is a concept by the guys behind the Halal food festival and I can honestly say the meat is of exceptional quality and I’ve enjoyed trying the whole range. However if your reading my blog Haloodies please could you start selling duck? Pretty please! You can visit Haloodies on their Facebook page www.facebook.com/haloodies
So on to the recipe……
Berkoukes are little pasta pellets. In the UK we call them giant couscous and they are delicious in this chicken sauce, casserole style dish.
I have as usual tweaked and played about with the basic recipe and I hope you enjoy it.

Ingredients
2 tbsp oil,
chicken pieces, this occasion I only used legs.
1 onion, finely chopped,
3 garlic cloves, crushed,
1 carrot, chopped,
1 tsp cumin,
1tsp paprika.
1 pinch chilli powder,
1 tbs tomato purée,
1 pint of chicken stock,
2 pints of water,
250g giant couscous,
Coriander, chopped
Crusty loaf to accompany

1hr 15 mins. Serves 4 – 6

Method

Brown the chicken in the oil, when browned add the onion and cook for a further 5 mins till starting to soften.
Add garlic and carrot and stir cooking for 5 mins.
Add all spices and tomato paste and cook for 2 mins.
Add stock and water and simmer for 30 mins.
Add the giant couscous simmer for a further 10 mins then add the chickpeas for a final 10 mins.
Season to taste and add the coriander.
Serve with a crusty loaf

5 thoughts on “Berkoukes bel djedj (chicken with giant couscous)

  1. As-Salaamu Alaykum,
    I came across your blog from allrecipes.co.uk where I saw your chorba frik recipe. You have a lovely blog and I was wondering what your connection is with Algeria? I’m married to an Algerian 🙂

    • Wa Alaykum Salaam Umm Hamza.
      Thank you for reading my blog. Yes I’m also married an Algerian. 3 years today in fact 🙂
      You must try the chorba frik recipe especially with Ramadan approaching inshallah.

      Do you cook many Algerian recipes? I think my husband loves it when I try! 🙂

      • Alhamdulillah, barak Allahu feekum.
        Yes I cook Algerian recipe, sometimes a hit sometimes a miss but we keep trying 🙂
        I tried your recipe for chorba frik yesterday and alhamdulillah my husband and I both really enjoyed even I left out chickpeas as we didn’t have any at home but it’s definitely going on my Ramadan menu in sha Allah, Jazak Allahu Khair.
        I’m doing a guest post on another blog during Ramadan and although I adapted your recipe slightly, I would like to give you credit and link back to your blog if that’s ok?

      • Hi Asmaa, sorry I had replied to you but the post appears to have vanished! Thank you for your kind words and I would be delighted Jazak Allahu Khair if you were to link back to me. Ramadan moubarek!

  2. Pingback: 3 ways to cook pasta — Middle Eastern Style | A teaspoon of (لیمون) zest

Leave a Reply

