Salmon with Julienne vegetables

20140127-184548.jpg

Every new year I make my resolutions for the coming year. Every year it includes eating healthier and taking up exercise. Every year I fail on day one.
This year though something else has happened…. I started running and that’s not all. I have managed to get my daily calories down!
The problem with dieting is I truly love good food. I don’t like to substitute meals with low fat versions of its ingredients. This is one dish that is packed of veg and steamed in its own juices and is full of flavour. After eating this I don’t need to reach for the “yummy” jar to feel fulfilled. I have made so many versions of this with various ingredients but this is my final edit.
Ps. Invest in a julienne peeler, makes this a doddle.

Serves 2

Ingredients
300g baby potatoes sliced the thickness of a pound coin
1 courgette, cut julienne
1 carrot, cut julienne
1 leek, trimmed and thinly sliced
1 lemon
2 salmon steaks
Bunch of chives and parsley, finely chopped
Baking parchment

Method

Heat oven to 200c. Cut two large rectangles of baking parchment twice the size of the baking sheets.
Fold over and grease one side.
Parboil potatoes for five mins and let dry.
Place the potatoes on the greased parchment about 2cm from the edges and pile high with the vegetables. Place the salmon on top. Season with salt and pepper and top with a slice of lemon and herbs. Squeeze the remaining lemon juice.
Fold over the sides of the parchment a few times pressing on the creases to makes sure there are no gaps and bake in the oven for 30 – 35 mins.

20140127-184618.jpg

One thought on “Salmon with Julienne vegetables

Leave a Reply

