Autumn and a Toffee Apple Pudding

20130923-202320.jpgMy favourite time of the year is here! Yes while most people are mourning the short burst of summer I am digging out my autumnal coloured clothes and looking forward to walks amongst the gold and russet leaves followed by hearty meals and puddings and snuggling with my husband and cats under a fleece watching a movie!

On top of all that it love autumn food! I have just got back from spending the weekend with my family in Dorset. What a fab introduction to Autumn! And sent back home with an array of apples, fresh lain eggs, pickled beet root, beet root chutney and fig jam made by my mother. Yum!

So in my batch of apples I have plenty of the cooking kind so tonight I’m whipping up a toffee apple dessert. I make a similar version with blackberries which was suppose to be added to my previous entry but got devoured twice in a row before I could photograph it but tonight I promised to be patient!

Toffee Apple Pudding

Ingredients
140g self raising flour
100g caster sugar
Pinch of salt
1 tbsp baking powder
200ml milk
2 cooking apples, peeled cored and sliced into thick slices
85g butter, melted
1 egg
140g brown sugar
250ml boiling water

Have the oven heated at 180c, grease a shallow dish.
Mix the flour, caster sugar, salt and baking powder.
Beat the egg and mix with the butter and milk and stir into your flour mix.
Place your apple slices into the prepared dish and pour your batter on top.
Add sugar to boiling water and stir. Using the back of a spoon to break the fall pour the liquid on the batter. Don’t panic I know it seems odd and a lot of fluid but trust me here!
Bake for 40 mins.
Serve with cream or custard

20130923-174014.jpg

20130923-170400.jpg

2 thoughts on “Autumn and a Toffee Apple Pudding

Leave a Reply

