Kesra (& the gift that was actually a hint to make some!)

20130707-155525.jpg

My husband is not the sort of guy to carry out romantic gestures or come home bearing gifts so imagine my surprise when one Sunday afternoon he come home proudly exclaiming he has a present for me ….

How sweet I thought wondering if he was to surprise me with a treat. Alas no the gift was in fact a huge circular flat iron griddle. “Now you can cook kesra authentically!”

Kesra is a type of flat bread which when reading the ingredients list sounds dry and unappetising but actually it’s absolutely delicious! All the recipes I have found for kesra call for fine semolina but my husband insists it should have a courser texture so I tried using medium semolina. This was a disaster! I think I have perfected his preference now with this mix.

And now to try it on my brand new Kesra griddle!

Ingrediants
300g fine semolina
100g medium semolina
3 tbs olive oil
1 tsp salt or to taste
125ml water approx

Method
Mix the semolina mix and the salt together and add the olive oil storing till the olive has coated all the semolina.
Slowly add enough water to make a nice soft dough.
Knead the dough until it feels slightly bouncy to touch and leave to stand for 30 mins – hour.
Roll the dough into a large circular shape approx 1/4inch deep. Depending on the size of your griddle, frying pan or tajine you may have to split into two breads.
Using a fork prick holes over the bread and cook over a very low heat for 15 – 25 mins turning often. You want the inside to retain its moistness.

20130708-104100.jpg

4 thoughts on “Kesra (& the gift that was actually a hint to make some!)

  1. Ah so your married to an Algerian, barak Allahu fiki
    Kesra is a real delight yours looks really authentic. I too make it, using a mix of both coarse and fine semolina although I still need one of those griddles, from which shop did he buy it?

Leave a Reply

